Roughly 18 Questions with Sean Carter

Name, Discipline, and Sponsors
Sean Carter, mostly road these days, Steamwhistle Wheelers Powered by Tubby Dog and Electra (VCC)

p1010889.jpg

1. Age?
37 going on 25

2. Where did you grow up, and where do you live now?
I grew up on the west side of Toronto, lived on the west coast of Canada for 6 years and have been in Alberta since 1998. I love it here and it is my home now.

3. Oilers or Flames?
Are you kidding? GO LEAFS GO!!!

[Editor Note – Leafs were officially eliminated from the playoffs last night] [Other Editor’s Note – Whether or not the Leafs make the playoff’s is inconsequential as the Leafs are bigger than the Playoffs.]

photosfrompeter-105.jpg

4. What is your job?
Sales rep (road warrior) for Thule Canada – covering AB/SK and MB. I spend a lot of time behind the wheel of my van, driving, driving, driving…

5. Best Result?
Thats a tough one cuz i have been racing for so long now. hmmm…the most recent would be my result (3rd overall – 1st Cat.3) from the Canmore Crit a couple years ago.

crit3rd.jpg

6. Key to your past successes?
Belief in my own abilities and never giving up. Road racing is a lottery and the strongest guy doesn’t always win – usually it’s the smartest guy who wins!

7. What result are you most proud of?
I am most proud of being an active racer for so long – this will be my 22nd year racing.

8. What’s in regular rotation on your iPod right now?
I have a satellite radio I listen to when riding so the programming changes all the time. Most of the time I listen to the alternative stations.

imgp9546-1.jpg

9. Future goals in Cycling?
Win the crit provincials in cat.3 this year, win the Skid Contest World Championships in the fall (VCC event) and try to keep bringing new people into the sport through the newest cycling club in Alberta – Veloplzen CC. Two friends of mine had the idea that there needed to be a cycling club created that would welcome riders of all disciplines and abilities and allow people who might feel intimidated by the existing club culture a place to call home. We want to offer a new type of club, focused primarily on having fun, riding together on all kinds of bikes and putting on events that are unique and exciting to ride. I think we have done a good job bringing together sponsors who are new to cycling and the feeling i have is that we are going to have alot of fun this summer. I think we already have close to 50 people signed up and only 10 or so are racers.

10. Best memory in cycling?
That’s easy! My best memory was the very first day i rode a 2-wheeler…i was 5 at the time and my friend Dave was convinced he could teach me to ride it so we set off with my new bike to the parking lot of our apartment building to give it a try. He said “just pedal, dont stop, you’ll be fine”. I said “ok”. then i hopped on and he gave me a mighty push and VOILA! I was riding. The wind in my hair, the feeling of speed, so good…this is exactly when things went bad…he didn’t tell me how to turn or stop and sure enough I rode full steam right into the side of a parked car, crashing into it and ending up in a heap on the concrete. It was at that moment that I fell in love with bicycles and I have never looked back.

11. High Socks or Low Socks?
Low socks in the 90’s – high socks now.

12. What is your pre-race meal?
French press coffee, some toast, nothing special. I am usually too nervous to eat much.

dsc_0571.jpg

13. What do you think about while you race?
Usually strategy and what I need to do to win! After that, probably the same things everybody else is thinking…”damn this is hard” or “I forgot to pay my gas bill” or “I’m bored, time to attack”.

14. Campy / Shimano / SRAM?
SRAM – on both the road bike and MTB.

15. Any pre-race rituals?
I always pack my stuff the night before and clean my bike the night before as well. A clean bike is a fast bike!

16. Any (other) passions or hobbies in your life?
Being the best dad I can be to a fantastic little 5yrs old boy. Keep your eyes open for Andreas in 10 yrs or so…he’s gonna be fast!

dsc00663jpg.jpg

17. Best bike you’ve ever owned?
Impossible question to answer because i think every bike i have owned was great. I have 13 bikes right now and love every one of them…

18. What’s the best part about cycling in Alberta?
Hands down – the ability to ride all year long (in Calgary anyway!) and the generally dry climate. Being an hour away from the Rockies is a luxury few appreciate as well!

Sean Carter
http://critninja.blogspot.com

One Response to “Roughly 18 Questions with Sean Carter”

  1. Andreas Carter. With a name like that, how can he NOT be fast. I’ll put him on the radar. Good luck with your season Sean.

    Mr. S.

Leave a Reply

