Roughly 18 Questions w/ Guri Randhawa

Name, Discipline, and Sponsors:

Guri Randhawa, Road, Cross, MTB and Track, Pedalhead Road Works/Me, Wife and Kids, and anyone who shops in my store.

1. Age?

35 – Sometimes I feel like 50 sometimes 16.

2. Where did you grow up, and where do you live now?

I grew up in B.C and moved to Edmonton when I was in grade 3. Went to University in Calgary and moved back to E-Town after.

3. Oilers or Flames?

Aren’t the flames a Slow Pitch Team ?

4. What is your job?

Bike Shop Owner/Mechanic/Sales, Racer,Coach, Father, Race Organizer.

5. Best Result?

Ever ? That’s tough, 15 + yrs of racing and I can’t think of one that really jumps out. Most recent would be 3 rd at the 24 hrs of Adrenaline last year in the 5 person Team. Funny how I mainly race road but my best result of the season was a MTB race, maybe it is a sign.

6. Key to your past successes?

Like Eddy Merckx said ” If you want to be faster on your bike, ride your bike more”. Also knowing that it takes more than fitness to be a good racer. Anyone can be fast in training but once you put that race number on it changes things.

7. What result are you most proud of?

It may sound lame but I am proud to be a competitive racer, any time I can make the guys suffer is good. Working 50 + hrs a week and being a Father makes me proud and happy anytime I line-up. Guys like Copeland give me hope that I can peak in 8 yrs ! So watch out for me in 2016.

8. What’s in regular rotation on your iPod right now?

Metric, Buck 65, Tool and some old Soundgarden. Oh ya I always have some Slayer on it.

9. Future goals in Cycling?

Want to be the old guy that makes all the young guys hurt. Racing Cat 1/2 as someone who contributes to the team and actually see the front of the race. Win some races along the way would be sweet. I would like to help continue to grow our Cross scene in Alberta and stay ahead of the other Provinces in the quality and level of racing.

10. Best memory in cycling?

Working for Stieda in France as a guide. Got to ride some of the most amazing climbs during the Tour and got to do it 2 yrs in a row. I also dropped Taylor Phinney on the Tourmalet, maybe I should be on Slipstream. (so he was 14, I still dropped him)

11. High Socks or Low Socks?

High socks, but even low socks are high on me.

12. What is your pre-race meal?

Vector, banana and lots of Coffee.

13. What do you think about while you race?

This hurts, why did I attack, who is the hack at the front, I hope I don’t get chopped by the sketchy guy, why is everyone sprinting for 8th, I wonder what will happen on LOST this week.

14. Campy / Shimano / SRAM?

Campy for racing, Shimano for fishing.

15. Any pre-race rituals?

Clean bike is a fast bike. A good Belgian beer the night before, just like Musseeuw.

16. Any (other) passions or hobbies in your life?

My family (passion not hobby) is very important to me, number 2 on the way any day. Not much free time for hobbies these days, I basically work, train a hang out at home. I do enjoy the Space Channel (just ask cp Walsh) and some good UFC.

17. Best bike you’ve ever owned?

I own so many not including the ones in the shop. My current ride is pretty sweet. Ridley custom painted the team bikes this year and I have got a Damocles with Record. .

18. What’s the best part about cycling in Alberta?

It is a tight group of racers in 1/2 which I like. Racing is hard in Alberta and has gotten harder, showing the depth of our riders. I hate when people under value racing here, there are hard races and some very fit riders. There is a reason Alberta puts out some amazing Road, Cross, MTB and Track racers. So don’t dis racing in Alberta cuz you will have to deal with my 135 lbs of wrath.

One Response to “Roughly 18 Questions w/ Guri Randhawa”

  1. Guri, you know vector is for kids.

Leave a Reply

