LungSnot Interview

Patrick Graham, also know as LungSnot, is gaining quite a reputation among the Alberta MTB Racing community as a Grade “A” photographer as he captures all of the action around the Alberta MTB Cup circuit with his trusty digital SLR camera. A visit to LungShot’s Flickr account quickly shows that he consistently delivers amazing photos – in bulk!

This DeadGoat’r agreed to give BikeAlberta and inside look into his work…

Is Photography a profession or an obsession for you?

Photography is an obsession for me, just like mountain biking. But it is too bad that I am much better at photography, than I am at mountain biking.

How long have you been shooting MTBing here in Alberta?

I started seriously taking Mtb photos during the Tran Rockies last year. That is when I really took it seriously. (Seven full days of taking Mtb photos) I remember taking photos at the Sunridge (ski hill) race last year as well.

Do you ever have to choose between racing or shooting?

Not yet, but I usually race first because I am in the sport category. Then I take photos of the other categories later on. The Bacon Buffet race I Dnf’d and ended up getting a photo of the majority of the racers.

What makes a great action photo?

When I get one I will let you know! I am my own worst critic. After I first get the photos uploaded onto my notebook, I then try to decide which ones I am going to post on Flickr. I have a really hard time trying to make a decision, because I don’t like any of them at first. It takes me a while to start to like the photos, or should I say warm up to them.

What camera(s) do you use? Lenses?

Currently I am using a Canon 30D, (digital SLR) I have a 17-85mm, and a 70-200mm for lenses. Nothing special, but it gets the job done.

Do you have any ambitions of making a living as a photographer? (Or at least subsidize your equipment costs)

That would be my dream job, but I do not think I am good enough yet. It would be nice if I could get paid to do it. That would be so awesome.

What is your most favourite MTB photo you have taken?

The most favourite Mtb photo is of Andreas Hestler on day 7 of the TransRockies last year. It isn’t the best picture, but I like it. On day 7 I had ridden up the course backwards to find a good spot to take some photographs. It was in the +30’s that day and I wanted to find a shady spot. Everyone was waiting at the finish line to take pictures, but I wanted to get different photos than everyone else. I found a nice shaded area to sit down and wait for the first riders. I had almost missed Tim and Roddi because they ride so smooth, and I didn’t hear them coming in the woods. (Was falling asleep in the shade) I was getting some good panning shots of the riders, and I was trying to get a perfect one. But it wasn’t very good lighting in the woods, so I had to make do with what I had. When I took the photo of Dre, I immediately looked at the LCD on my camera to see what the picture looked like; I was so excited with the picture I had taken. ( it is a pretty neat feeling).

Here is the photo of Andreas:

We’ve noticed you upload your pics to Flickr right away – most times the same day as the race, why is that?

I try to get the photos up right away so the people can enjoy them. The sooner the better! Plus I am a bit competitive.

A great photo of yourself competing is awesome since bike racing is such a passion for many people. Does it make you feel good that people browse your Flickr account looking for a sweet picture of themselves at a race, then downloading it to their computer?
It doesn’t bother me in the least. I actually like that people look at my photos and can hopefully find one of themselves racing etc. I have tracking tools on my Flickr account so I can see what photos are popular and where the hits come from etc. At 12:46am on Thursday June 12, 2008 this is how many hits I have 113,309. That is pretty good in my book.

Do you plan to shoot at most Alberta races?
Going to try, but I will have to see how the financial situation goes.

Do you attend any road racing events?
I competed in the Bici ITT that was held in Strathmore earlier this year, and I also took some photos as well.

Do you have a photo of yourself that you’d like to share?
I don`t like being in front of the camera, and I don`t have any recent photos of myself. Sorry!

What advice would you give anyone who wanted to take great MTB photos?

Practice taking a couple of photographs at least once a day, and this will keep you sharp. Take pictures of anything.

Thanks to Patrick to answering our questions and for sharing the awesome photos he’s been taking. Keep up the good work!

Check out all of LungSnot’s great photos [here]

6 Responses to “LungSnot Interview”

  1. great photos, PND! Keep ’em coming!

  2. Pat we all love having them available… John Gibson started out with exactly what you’re doing if I recall right! Keep it up.

  3. Awesome camera work and I LOVE the photo’s, especially viewing them the same day….keep’s me in touch with my son’s adventure’s.

  4. Congratulations Pat on getting the recognition you deserve. We’re so lucky to have a master photographer among us!

  5. The pics are Wicked Awesome’ness

  6. Thank you Pat, you’re spoiling us but thanks.

Leave a Reply

