Roughly 18 Questions with Bruce Copeland

Name, Discipline, and Sponsors

Bruce Copeland

Road, Track (sometimes) and Cyclocross (not well)

Team – Juventus

Sponsors – River Valley Cycle

Bruce @ Banff Bike Fest

1. Age?

Old …..OK, really 46 ( but I feel like 25 … really )

2. Where did you grow up, and where do you live now?

Born and raised in Edmonton, went to U of A and still here.

3. Oilers or Flames?

You have to ask? See #2 ( but I’m not a huge hockey fan anyways ) Now ask me Ferrari or McLaren.

4. What is your job?

Teach Chemical/Petroleum Engineering Technology at NAIT. I’ve been at it for a while so I guess I like it.

5. Best Result?

Best??? I’ve won a few races but best?? Probably 6th at Nationals ITT in Hamilton. Good field and tough course.

6. Key to your past successes?

Consistent – methodical (most of the time) training and trying to have good equipment ( in TTs anyways ). Focusing on quality training ( I love the track for that )

7. What result are you most proud of?

Definitely getting a top 10 in an NRC stage race TT ( only 1:30 behind Nathan O’Neil, who smoked everyone) plus breaking Jeff Barnes unofficial Alberta TT record.

8. What’s in regular rotation on your iPod right now?

Tiesto, Oakenfold plus anything Bidniak sends me. Plus some Red Hot Chillies for a change up. No slow sugary stuff to ride to.

9. Future goals in Cycling?

Keep riding, see some cool places and have fun. Hopefully get faster or at least stay competitive.

Help up and coming riders.

Do some more coaching and keep learning.

Build the Devon GP into a bigger event/race – blatant advertising – this race will be even better this year (4 stages including a road stage)

I still want to go sub 50 min for 40 km. I better hurry up with this one.

10. Best memory in cycling?

Can I change that to memories? – Riding with my wife, Susan, especially in France and the Hood River area. Penticton too. Columbia Plateau stage race. My first NRC races (Gila, Cascade and Zinger, back in the day) sitting on Vaughters wheel at Zinger going, wow, this guy is just back from the Tour. (immediately before getting dropped out of that group) Riding Alp D’Huez a couple of hours before the Tour. Awesome hard, long solo or 2 up rides in BC mountains with as many mountain passes/climbs as possible.

11. High Socks or Low Socks?

Low for sure – really, who started that high sock thing? Look at the pictures, its just bad !! Such an 80’s thing.

12. What is your pre-race meal?

Espresso and Coke. OK, breakfast – oatmeal and yogurt plus coffee, maybe a bagel with PB/honey on the way top the race and a Chocolate Powerbar (OK, that’s kind of a ritual) Did I mention coffee and Coke??? No stops at Ron’s ( i.e.: the golden arches) for me though.

13. What do you think about while you race?

Think?? You have time to think? Depends, in a ITT I think about how fast I’m catching the guy in front of me and figuring out time splits/gaps (I know … I’m a NERD ) In a road races I like to think about what’s going on and who’s where. What is everyone else up to? In cross I just try not to fall down too much. If I think about it, I’ll fall down or just go slow. Usually just slow.

14. Campy / Shimano / SRAM?

Changing to a SRAM drive train. Tired of the big S. Hey, don’t forget the SRM!!

15. Any pre-race rituals?.

Too much coffee. I have to back off, its that darn diuretic effect. Chocolate Powerbars as long as its not hot enough to turn them to goo.

16. Any (other) passions or hobbies in your life?

Lots!!! Our critters – two dogs – Flecha and Jesse. Way to much fun! F1 racing. XC skiing – especially at Blackfoot or Sovereign Lakes with Susan. Windsurfing in the Gorge or Maui. Speed skating ( I’m not good but its fun, it just hurts way too much when you fall )

17. Best bike you’ve ever owned?

My P3 Cervelo (just retired) was awesome. The old P2 looked cool but the P3 was fast and way ahead of its time. I hope my P3C is even better. Road bike – Cannondale CAAD 8. It was light enough and handled great and was an all around great ride.

18. What’s the best part about cycling in Alberta?

Team mates and the people in general. Spring riding on sunny days when you have been training inside or riding in snow. Like I should be right now!!!

2 Responses to “Roughly 18 Questions with Bruce Copeland”

  1. Nice Interview with Bruce: RESPECT and an EXAMPLE for many younger riders!!
    -Tim.

  2. A good instructor. A good biker. You rock Mr. Copeland! I am proud to have you instruct me at NAIT.

Leave a Reply

