Roughly 18 Questions with Roddi Lega

Name, Discipline, and Sponsors

Hot Sauce, almost all disciplines, no sponsors

1. Age?

29

2. Where did you grow up, and where do you live now?

I grew up in St. Albert and now I live way over there in Edmonton.

3. Oilers or Flames?

Oilers, mainly because of Ryan Smyth.

4. What is your job?

BMX, Mountain Bike and Ketchup Chip Coordinator at the Alberta Bicycle Association.

5. Best Results?

Canada Cup Champion 2004, National Cyclo Cross Champion 2002 (I think), Trans Rockies 2007 winner with Tim Heemskerk,

6. Key to your past successes and failures?

Ride 4 to 6 hours per day…… on top of whatever your coach tells you.

7. What result are you most proud of?

In 2001, mid October, I ate 4 Nanaimo Bars, a 200g bag of Smarties, 3 Boston Cream dohnuts, 4 Safeway Triple Chocolate cookies and 2 medium sized Rum Balls.

8. What’s in regular rotation on your iPod right now? I

don’t like music, it makes me throw hands. But I do love the inspirational sounds of Maria Carey.

9. Future goals in Cycling?

Not sucking anymore after 2008’s summer of Roddi. Actually I don’t tell my goals to anyone except my cat, you’ll have to ask her but I don’t think she’s talking unless you have some dried fish in your pocket.

10. Best memory in cycling?

Being so strong that you never get tired and winning a bunch of races and being on both the Mountain and Road National Team….but that led to getting tired.

11. High Socks or Low Socks?

Are you kidding me?

12. What is your pre-race meal?

Oatmeal and Orange juice. All mixed in one and funneled down as fast as possible.

13. What do you think about while you race?

Damn, I look good in these shorts.

14. Campy / Shimano / SRAM?

Don’t care at all just ride it, stop being a hack and smooth out.

15. Any pre-race rituals?

I usually drink about 1 liter of Vodka the night before in order to stay hydrated and to calm the nerves. If it’s going to be a hot race I will drink Whiskey so as to get some sustenance from the coloring, but I try not to because the Whisk makes me throw hands (again).

16. Any (other) passions or hobbies in your life?

Shopping, clubbing, cigarettes, and ANTM (Americas Next Top Model).

17. Best bike you’ve ever owned?

Your mom’s bike.

18. What’s the best part about cycling in Alberta?

outdoor rink hockey instead of riding in the winter, K-Country, Jasper, Canmore, Banff, KD Lang, Wayne Gretzky Drive, beautiful weather and there’s lots of wheat to eat if you get hungry on a long road ride.

2 Responses to “Roughly 18 Questions with Roddi Lega”

  1. whats that in his shorts? his cat? dried fish bits?

  2. Best 18 questions ever!!!

Leave a Reply

