Roughly 18 Questions w/ Geoff Kabush

Name, Discipline, and Sponsors
Name:Geoff Kabush
Discipline: XC, CX, Road
Sponsor: Team Maxxis-Rocky Mountain (2009)
1. Age?
DOB: April 14, 1977

2. Where did you grow up, and where do you live now?
I grew up in the Comox Valley; then I moved to Victoria for University and bike practice; now I split time between Victoria, my southern home base in Albuquerque, and mostly my suitcase for about 9 months of the year.

3. Oilers or Flames?
Canucks are going all the way this year.

4. What is your job?
Professional Bicycle Racer.

Photo by Brad Chisholm

5. Best Result?
Junior Worlds XC, 1995, Kirchzarten, Germany, 99th, out-sprinted two guys for top 100. Also consider BC Cup Overall Pro Downhill Champion on a hardtail in 1996 to be a highlight.

6. Key to your past successes?
Making sure to have fun, not trying to get too fast too quick, training smart, everything in moderation including beer, chocolate, and pumpkin pie, staying in school.

7. What result are you most proud of?
At mud-fest of a race at Nationals at Mt. Stan 2004, I flatted early, then I broke my rear-derailleur cable (tied it off around seatpost for a decent gear), then I broke my chain later, and then finished 7th.

8. What’s in regular rotation on your iPod right now?
McGimpsey just introduced me to DJ Z-Trip and I am listening to it on the plane right now; I also like Elizabeth, Tegan and Sara, Stars, Death Cab, Wilco, AC/DC, etc

9. Future goals in Cycling?
Trying to avoid a real job as long as possible.

10. Best memory in cycling?
Getting lots of presents in the mail. Heckling. Meeting funny people.

11. High Socks or Low Socks?
HIgh, black, sometimes argyle.

12. What is your pre-race meal?
My favourite pre-race meal is machiato, breakfast buritto, machiato. Nine slices of pumpkin pie and belgian beer apparently provides adequate fuel as well.


13. What do you think about while you race?
At the Jim Horner Grand Prix I was thinking if I do a “Wanker” Wayne Pomario finish line move will he fine me again?

Photo by Brad Chisholm

14. Campy / Shimano / SRAM?
Shimano preferably, or whatever is free.

15. Any pre-race rituals?
In Alberta I like to wait to get my seat position measured and then get fined by “Wanker” Wayne Pomario for not respecting start order.

16. Any (other) passions or hobbies in your life?
espresso, belgian beer, snow skiing when time allows, trying to stay in one place with my wife for three weeks, FUBAR, internet research, my animals (2 dogs, 3 cats), international beer contests

17. Best bike you’ve ever owned?
1993 Yellow HUMU HUMU NUKU NUKU APUA’A; she still gets me to the coffee shop and around town faithfully everyday.

18. What’s the best part about cycling in Alberta?
Roddi wearing skinsuits to bars and telling bad jokes about grandma’s private parts (see Roddi’s 18 questions), watching espoirs (Bidniak and Larson) holding hands and hugging instead of racing their bikes, beer and pumpkin pie parties.

Cheers,

Geoff

5 Responses to “Roughly 18 Questions w/ Geoff Kabush”

  1. Now that was a great interview! Especially the Bidniak/Larson thing at the end.

  2. Definately a good interview for sure. But didn’t realize that bike racers drink so much beer.

  3. Bidniak and Larson are never going to live down the decision to hold hands hahaha.

  4. […] To check out the “Roughly Eighteen Questions” w/ Kabush, click [here] […]

  5. […] To check out the “Roughly Eighteen Questions” w/ Kabush, click [here] […]

Leave a Reply

